Help Center

Assigning Access Rights in Folders

When you create or Share a Folder with a user, you need to select the access rights the user will have inside that Folder. The access rights give the user powers based on this table:

Folder access rights in Samepage are additive which means you cannot reduce someone’s access in a folder, you can only add more access. Please see our help article Understanding Sharing in Samepage for more information.

Manager Access Rights

Manager access rights can only be given to members of the organization (not guests). The folder Manager can manage everything about that folder from who has access to the folder all the way down to the content in that folder.

Managers can view and chat in any document, they can create new documents, they can move, delete, duplicate, copy the documents, and create, copy, duplicate and move sub-folders.

Managers are the only ones who can lock documents.

Full Editor Access Rights

Full Editor access rights allow the user to view and chat in any document, they can create new documents, they can move, delete, duplicate, copy the documents, and create, copy, duplicate and move sub-folders.

Writer Access Rights

Writer access rights allow the user to view and chat in any document, and they can edit existing documents.

Writers cannot move, delete, duplicate, or copy the documents. They cannot create, copy, duplicate and move sub-folders.

Reader Access Rights

Reader access rights allow the user to only view existing documents, but they can chat about any document.

Readers cannot create, edit, move, delete, duplicate, or copy the documents. They cannot create, rename, copy, duplicate and move sub-folders.

A special note about top level folder access rights

Top level folders are folders created in top level of the Teamwork area.

By default, when you create a top level folder, the “Everyone” entry’s role is set to Manager. That means, all members in the organization can see this folder, create, edit and delete pages in it, and even change sharing settings.

This can be changed during the folder creation or anytime later by opening the Folder sharing dialog. For more information about changing access rights in folders see the help article Share a Folder.

Assigning Access Rights in Folders